Be a Professional Certified Coding Specialist from CHISS

Certified Coding Specialist (CCS)

Certified Coding Specialist training program from CHISS will help you be a skilled medical coder.

Get Started Now!

Use the form below to register today for
Health Informatics and Information Management Program

*We will never spam you, or sell your data to third parties

Certified Coding Specialist (CCS)

Welcome to CHISS Training domain for CCS, The top most certification in Clinical Coding Career from
AHIMA (American Health Information Management Association).
The CCS certification is a natural progression for professionals experienced in coding inpatient and outpatient records. Coding specialists create coded data used by hospitals and medical providers to obtain reimbursement from insurance companies or government programs such as Medicare and Medicaid. Researchers and public health officials also use this data to monitor patterns and explore new interventions.

Exclusive LIVE Online Coaching

Course duration – 1.5 months training

Course Fee: Rs. 20,000/- (Indian Rupee Twenty Thousand only) without Clinical Coding Books.

Note : If you are joining for an interim coding course, there will be payment and that depends on the talent test by CHISS.

Certified Coding Specialist Training by CHISS

Coding specialists are skilled in classifying medical data from patient records, often in a hospital setting but also in a variety of other healthcare settings. The CCS credential demonstrates a practitioner's tested skills in data quality and accuracy as well as mastery of coding proficiency. CHISS introducing the technology based online training for CCS. Students can appear the classes online and practice the mock examinations exclusively in online portal created by CHISS team

CCSs :

Review patients’ records and assign alphanumeric codes for each diagnosis and procedure.

Possess expertise in the ICD-10-CM and CPT® coding systems.

Are versed in medical terminology, disease processes, and pharmacology concepts.

The eligibility to start study CCS with CHISS; all you need a basic ICD10CM knowledge and CPT basics. If you are not good in basics of ICD10CM and CPT, please complete an interim Coding Course provided by CHISS and after completing the course, you can join with CCS Training.

CHISS trainers: Our trainers are experienced and extremely talented. They are certified in CCS and approved AHIMA ICD10CM and PCS Trainers. They have more than 15 years of experience in Health Care facilities.

Exam Requirements: CHISS will not take any responsibility for the exam eligibility, scheduling, rescheduling, cancellation and selection of exam centres. These requirements are completely depending on the policies and standards of AHIMA.

Eligibility Requirements for Appearing AHIMA CCS Examination

Candidates must meet one of the following eligibility requirements to sit for the CCS examination:

Complete courses in all the following topics: anatomy & physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology, medical terminology, reimbursement methodology, intermediate/advanced ICD diagnostic coding, and procedural coding and medical services (CPT/HCPCS)

Minimum of two (2) years of related coding experience directly applying codes; or

Hold the CCA® credential plus one (1) year of coding experience directly applying codes; or

Hold a coding credential from another certifying organization plus one (1) year of coding experience directly applying codes; or

Hold a CCS-P®, RHIT®, or RHIA® credential

Exam Specifications

The CCS is a timed exam. Candidates have four hours to complete the exam. The total number of questions on the exam range between 115 and 140 total items. The exam consists of two sections, a Multiple-Choice Section and a Medical Scenario Section(inpatient, outpatient, and emergency department). The exam is given in a computer-based format. AHIMA exams contain a variety of questions or item types that require you to use your knowledge, skills,and/or experience to select the best answer. Each exam includes scored questions and pre-test questions randomly distributed throughout the exam. Pre-test questions are not counted in the final results.The passing score for the CCS is 300.
Competencies for CCS fall into four domains. Each domain accounts for a specific percentage of the total questions on the certification exam. See the Exam Content Outline below for greater detail.

Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) Exam Content Outline (Effective 7/1/20)

Domain 1 – Coding Knowledge and Skills (51.9%)

Domain 2 – Coding Documentation (10.1%)

Domain 3 – Provider Queries (8.9%)

Domain 4 – Regulatory Compliance (29.1%)

AHIMA Exam Centres: CCS exam Centres are available all major Metropolitan cities of India Such as New Delhi, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad etc.